Limited Editions Club: The Birds by Aristophanes (1959)

June 17, 2017 § 2 Comments

The Birds by Aristophanes (1959)
LEC #304/28th Series V. 1 in 1959
Artwork: Illustrations by Marian Parry
Introduced and translated by Dudley Fitts

#403 of 1500. LEC Exclusive.

Click to see larger views.

Front Binding – It’s been a while since we last encountered Aristophanes, hasn’t it? Well this isn’t the expensive book with his name attached to it — that’s Lysistrata, and we covered the Heritage edition of that a bit ago. I also updated that post a little with Aristophanes’ publishing history, just as a FYI.

This is the last book issued by the George Macy Company from the playwright; we’ll have to track down The Frogs to wrap it all up. Curiously, the Heritage Press paired this with The Frogs when they issued it around the same time as this volume. They didn’t do that often, but it did happen on occasion — one half of the book was The Birds, and then one could flip it over and there was The Clouds.

Marian Perry was recruited to provide pen-and-ink drawings to decorate the text, and she does an admirable job giving character to the events of the play. Some are printed in color, which gives it some pop. Parry only worked on this LEC, but she left a strong impression in my opinion.

Design Notes – Bert Clarke of Clarke and Way was the lead designer on this book, although Parry was heavily involved given how crucial her illustrations are to the design. Bembo was the font of choice, and the Thistle Press (aka Clarke and Way) printed the text in their own shop. They decided to double-fold the pages, a rarity for the LEC. The letter goes into the cutting of double-fold pages in some detail on Page 4. Curtis Paper provided the …well, paper, and binding was done by the ever-constant Frank Fortney.

Solander Case

Slipcase

Title Page – Dudley Fitts was the translator of the text for this edition, and provides some thoughts in an Introduction.

Colophon – Since I got this at Old Captiol Books (formerly BookBuyers), it’s #403 of 1500 like every other title I’ve purchased from there.

Examples of the Illustrations by Parry (right click and open in new tab for full size):

Personal Notes – I bought this at Old Capitol Books in Monterey last time I was there, which was shortly after Christmas in 2016. The majority of my LECs are from that delightful shop and its predecessor, and when I stopped in Monterey this past November I wasn’t able to make it there, so it was nice to revisit the store after a bit of a long gap. I took my time to make my decision, and given that I adore Aristophanes’ work, I felt it was high time to actually add a LEC of his to my collection.

LEC Monthly Letter

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Limited Editions Club: The Birds by Aristophanes (1959)

  • django6924 says:

    Jerry, the other Aristophanes play bound dos-a-dos with The Birds in the Heritage edition was “The Frogs.” Macy never published “The Clouds,” which had been published in a Limited Edition by The Peter Pauper Press. A very nice book.

    • WildcatJF says:

      Hi Robert,

      I knew that, but apparently I just had my mind in the…well, you know. :p I’ll fix it up. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Limited Editions Club: The Birds by Aristophanes (1959) at The George Macy Imagery.

meta