Heritage Press – The Odyssey by Homer (1970, Connecticut)

January 16, 2012 § 2 Comments

The Odyssey by Homer (1970, Connecticut)
Sandglass Number: Unknown
Artwork: Classical Designs by John Flaxman
Translated by Alexander Pope
Heritage Press Exclusive – The LEC did their own Odyssey in 1930, designed by Jan van Krimpen, and later Sidney Shiff produced his LEC Odyssey in 1981 featuring woodcuts by Barry Moser.

Click images to see a larger view.

Front Binding – This will be a relatively short post, since it’s A) a library copy and B) a Connecticut-era reprint, and it’s a companion to the Heritage Iliad.  It features the same design philosophy, the same translator (Alexander Pope) and the same artist (John Flaxman).  So I don’t think I can really comment much more than I did with the Iliad.  This is a nice shade of blue in contrast to the Iliad red.

Spine

Title Page – Flaxman’s work is still nice!

Page 6 – I’ll be more than happy to compare these to the New York printing when I can, but I can say that the quality isn’t shabby at all.

Page 14

Personal Notes – Checked out from the library…although I wouldn’t mind owning them.

If you have a Sandglass for the Heritage New York printing, please drop me a line here or through the comments at my thread about this blog at the George Macy Devotees @ LibraryThing!  I could use extra insights into this book.  Thanks!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Heritage Press – The Odyssey by Homer (1970, Connecticut)

  • don floyd says:

    I’m not certain that because the corporate offices changed from Madison Ave to Avon, CT that the printing facility changed. The title page on this one and on all my HC books of this period list the Heritage Press which was Macy’s printing facility. I am beginning to doubt very seriously that the printing facility changed. The decline in quality of the Heritage Club editions seems to have been in the bindery which was always a separate entity since the Heritage Press had no bindery operation.

    It should be noted that the Flaxman illustrations are unique to the Heritage Club and, consequently, to Easton Press. The original LEC editions had no illustrations. The handset type by Jan Van Krimpen was a stupendous job and probably negated any money for illustrations. I have both the LEC Homer books of the 30s with the pages uncut, thus never read. I am rebinding both this year since they were bound in such a light fabric that most of these heavy books did not survive in totlal.

    I also have the prose translation printed under Shiff and illustrated by Barry Moser. The translation is in prose by T. E. Shaw, Lawrence of Arabia. You can read a rhyming verse translation (Pope) or a free verse translation (Fagles), but a prose translation make for a soemwhat dull and insipid Homer.

    • Wildcat-Lvl says:

      It’s nice to see you meander my way, Don. :)

      1) I’ve seen printing quality decline on reprints of Macy’s HP’s printed in the Connecticut era, as well as subpar binding work as you mention. That’s one area I don’t know a ton about is the transition period between the Macy’s and Cardevon beyond the names of the owners.

      2/3) I did note that in the Iliad post – I didn’t want to parrot myself too much. However, I would love to quote you on the other two editions of the Odyssey in my actual post if you don’t mind.

      Thanks for the additional insights!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Heritage Press – The Odyssey by Homer (1970, Connecticut) at The George Macy Imagery.

meta