Heritage Press – The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan (1942)

August 20, 2011 Comments Off on Heritage Press – The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan (1942)

The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan (1942)
Sandglass Number unknown
Artwork – Watercolors by William Blake
Introduced by John T. Winterich
Reprint of LEC #129/12th Series V. 12 in 194
1

Click the images for larger views.

Front Binding – The Heritage Press apparently liked this design, as they reused it for their unique version of John Milton’s Paradise Lost, which also featured the watercolors of William Blake (the LEC utilized Carlotta Petrina’s artwork in 1936, which did not come out as a Heritage).  Who designed it is not something I know, I’m afraid – I bought this for $1 or so, and it was a former library copy with a fair share of problems, but hey, I want to document books, and I think $1 was not a bad price for that purpose.  Anyway, Macy seemed to like Blake, as his art appears in several Heritage and LEC volumes.  Off the top of my head, I know there’s this (in LEC and Heritage formats), the aforementioned Heritage Paradise Lost, the LEC/Heritage L’Allegro & Il Penseroso, also by Milton, the Heritage Divine Comedy by Dante, and, after Macy’s passing, the poems of Blake which included his own art done in the Cardevon period of the LEC.

Title Page – Admitting complete ignorance to what The Pilgrim’s Progress is about, I find Blake’s watercolors to be compelling yet unsettling to look at.  He’s got a talent for rendering such beautiful depictions of the grotesque, that he does.  John T. Winterich, the man behind many early introductions for the Heritage Press, continues that tradition here, too.  I’ll let Blake’s work speak for itself in the next two examples from the book.

Page 144

Page 160

Personal Notes – I do like Blake’s work, but I also have no real interest in Bunyan’s tale here, so the two bicker with each other. :p  I sold off this copy in Monterey to get better quality books (and by that I mean condition – it had torn pages, library trappings throughout and was lacking a slipcase or Sandglass).

Any and all info on this book’s design process would be very useful!  If you have a Sandglass or LEC Newsletter, please drop me a line here or through the comments at my thread about this blog at the George Macy Devotees @ LibraryThing!  Thanks!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Heritage Press – The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan (1942) at The George Macy Imagery.

meta