Heritage Press – Sonnets by William Shakespeare (1941)

July 7, 2011 § 2 Comments

The Sonnets of William Shakespeare (1941)
Sandglass Number Unknown
Artwork: Decorations by Valenti Angelo
Heritage Press Exclusive – The LEC never put out a specific collection of Shakespeare’s sonnets, instead compiling all of Shakespeare’s poetic verse into two separate editions: one designed by Bruce Rogers as part of the LEC Shakespeare series (although published after all of the plays) in 1941, and another in 1967 featuring Agnes Miller Parker’s art as part of the British Poet series.  I have the Heritage edition of that latter book here for view.

Click the images for larger views.

Front Binding – Whenever Valenti Angelo is involved in a book, they seem to have striking bindings.  From the Arabian Nights Entertainments to Salome to The Song of Roland, Angelo’s exquisite touch is noticeable and delightful.  This is no exception.  Blue and peach inks merge with black to create a dynamic frontispiece on creme cloth boards.  I’d love to own this – alas, this is a library copy.  That also means I need some aid on finding out info on the designer and the book’s creation.

Title Page – A sharp, beautiful title page that gets the point across quickly.  Lovely book.  I believe John T. Winterich introduced this book, like he tended to do with Heritage Press exclusives in their early days, but I don’t remember right off hand if that’s true or not.

Sonnet 1 – Angelo provides a nice little flourish to each sonnet at the top.  Simple, but effective.

Sonnet 2

Sonnet 3

Personal Notes – From my local library, hopefully to be in my collection soon!

Any and all info on this book’s design process would be very useful!  If you have a Sandglass or LEC Newsletter, please drop me a line here or through the comments at my thread about this blog at the George Macy Devotees @ LibraryThing!  Thanks!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Heritage Press – Sonnets by William Shakespeare (1941)

  • don curren says:

    i have this book and would like to know its value

    • Wildcat-Lvl says:

      Hi Don,

      I’m afraid I don’t know its value, as I don’t own this particular book myself. I suggest taking a quick glance at the Advanced Search options of ABEBooks and Alibris.

      ~ Wildcat

What’s this?

You are currently reading Heritage Press – Sonnets by William Shakespeare (1941) at The George Macy Imagery.

meta