Heritage Press: The Book of Ruth (1947)

June 26, 2011 § 2 Comments

The Book of Ruth (1947)
Sandglass Number Unknown
Artwork: Illustrations by Arthur Szyk
Translation Prepared at Cambridge in 1611 for King James I, Introduced by Mary Ellen Chase
Heritage Press Reprint of LEC #184/17th Series, V. 11 in 1947

Click images for a larger view.

Front Binding – Yes, we’ve got a special book on our hands here.  Arthur Szyk’s linework is as impressive as his miniature paintings, and it’s a fine way to make this otherwise barren white cloth board shine.  I’ll need some help with the design info, due to this being a library book.

Title Page – Right off the bat the book stuns with its gorgeous artwork by Szyk I don’t know if these are miniatures or not, but it doesn’t matter.  They’re beautiful.  The Book of Ruth’s translation comes straight from the King James Bible, and Mary Ellen Chase provides the preface to the work.

Page 13 – Words really can’t express Szyk’s talent, so I’ll just let these marvels vouch for themselves.

Page 42

Personal Notes – Another book I want to add to my collection posthaste – this copy came via the library.

Any and all info on this book’s design process would be very useful!  If you have a Sandglass or LEC Newsletter, please drop me a line here or through the comments at my thread about this blog at the George Macy Devotees @ LibraryThing!  Thanks!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Heritage Press: The Book of Ruth (1947)

  • Matthew McMAkin says:

    It is a very interesting book, incredible illustrations. I found a copy on the book shelf swap at the local supermarket. One I have is different slightly. Back cover is blank and front has another print of the first illustration. Be interesting to know why.

    • Wildcat-Lvl says:

      Hi Matthew,

      Hm, sounds like you’ve found a different printing. The Heritage Press did release variant editions of their books depending on certain factors, so that’s probably why yours is a bit different. Could you tell me the publication info, i.e. New York, Norwalk, CT or Avon, CT? I may be able to go into more specifics for you.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Heritage Press: The Book of Ruth (1947) at The George Macy Imagery.

meta